blog, blondies, cake, caramel, Chichester, children, cream, homemade, rapture, salted butter, vanilla extract

Make Today!: Salted Caramel Pecan Blondies


For tomorrow may never come.

If you are a Twitter citizen like me, you must have noticed #rapture trending for the past 48hrs. True to Twitter style, predictions of an impending Judgement Day was treated with much humour and sarcasm. It was brought to my mind that Blondie (the band) had a song named Rapture and in some weird convoluted way, I arrived to the conclusion that the family needs to be introduced to blondies.

Slaveboy is away at a gig and he’s been feeling particularly grumpy tired as life has been very hectic lately. Quietly, I reckon he’s been fretting about the impending invasion of my familial kind, if only due to sensing my stress levels rising. I haven’t seen my Mum for over 5 years now, and the rest of my family 15 years. Frankly, there are lots to be stressful about. We are way behind in sorting out the house and its long list of to-dos. The garden is in dire need of sorting out, even more so now since the Hoover Candy repairman left the old washing machine drum out there (I’m semi considering repotting the beautiful Rose bush Spiker bought me for my birthday into it and declaring that my garden has a pseudo steampunk theme). The shower only produces 7 minutes worth of hot water and I have my Malaysian family who are only used to wet bathrooms. We have to play hopscotch along the upstair’s corridor due to the homeless household items lining it. There is also the slight issue of the various taxidermy related ornaments that I recently started collecting. My Mum will see these as no more than me plastering roadkill all over the house.

Yes, I am aware that I am a 38 year old woman who needs to grow a spine, but alas, in my defense, I speak to my Mum in Malay and my Malay language age is of a 9 year old, hence my emotional intelligence reverts back to that age when I am dealing with her.

But you MUST make these. They’re like albino brownies. Chewy. Moist. Dense. With a crisp top. Perfect for days when chocolate feels too heavy.

Perfect ANYDAY if you live with us.

Salted Caramel Pecan Blondies
Salted Caramel Sauce

85g butter
150g caster sugar
240ml double cream
1/2tsp vanilla extract
1tsp fleur de sel, or coarse Maldon salt (if you are not a fan of the salt/sweet ratio, then just omit the salt altogether but make sure you use salted butter)

Method:
Combine the butter and sugar together in a heavy pan and put it on medium heat. Stir regularly until the mixture thickens.

It will thicken to a roux consistency, like so below.

The colour will darken and the mixture will bubble quite furiously.

Which is why I didn’t manage to get a photo of the next stage as things got hot, hot, hot.

The mixture should start to smoke and be quite dark. At this point, take it off the hob and carefully add the double cream. Do it in small amounts as it can spit and splutter.

Stir well and when the mixture is cool, add the vanilla extract and if desired the salt.

You will only need half of this mixture.

Ingredients for Blondies

225g butter
400g caster sugar
2 eggs
1tsp vanilla extract
250g plain flour
100g plus 50g toasted pecan nuts, coarsely chopped
1/2 recipe of salted caramel sauce

Method (preheat oven 160C)
-Mix the butter and caster sugar until soft and whippy.
-Add the eggs, one by one.
-Add the vanilla extract, followed by the plain flour.
-Mix in the 100g toasted pecan nuts.
-Spread the mixture into a lined baking tin, I use Lakeland’s biscotti pan which is about 30cm x 16cm.
-Pour of the salted caramel sauce onto the surface and using a knife, just make swirly patterns into the mixture. Sprinkle the remaining toasted pecans.
-Bake for around 50 minutes. Do note that if you use a bigger tin, the cooking time will be less. What you are looking for is for the blondie to be just set, with hardly any wobble. It will continue to cook even after you take it out of the oven.
-Allow it to cool for an hour or so, and then pop it into the fridge to completely go cool.

So, join me again soon when I will probably chronicle our frenzied attempt to get the house in order. Slaveboy has already enlisted the help of our friend, Percy the Pirate (rrraaaaarrhhhrrr) who is turning up next week to paint our windows.

And maybe life might get a little more sorted that I find a little bit more time to tell you about our plans for this place.

Can you just see a cupcake design replacing that hanging sign outside the shop?

Standard

6 thoughts on “Make Today!: Salted Caramel Pecan Blondies

  1. BeeH says:

    A useful thing to do with the washing machine drum: my mom & gran buried theirs in the garden with the opening at the top and store homegrown root vegetables in it for autumn. It’s like an instant root cellar!

  2. Lesley says:

    Those sound lush and I think I might have some pecans but will have to go get double cream and salted butter as we only have unsalted here. Would a swiss roll tin do or is that not deep enough? Thanks again for sharing a luscious recipe x

  3. Don’t let the lack of salted caramel sauce stop you. Make the blondes and instead of swirling salted caramel sauce, maybe make a streusel top out of butter, chopped pecans and muscovado sugar? Improvise. The only integral part of the blondes are the butter, egg, sugar and flour in those proportions. Play around with mixed fruits, peanut butter chips, chocolate chunks etc.

    • Lesley says:

      will be having a go at making these this evening – will let you know how they turn out – will have to use an 8″ square cake tin as don’t have any rectangular tins deep enough. Hey ho.

  4. Lesley says:

    Right! Finally got these made tonight and they look amazing – we can’t wait for them to cool down properly so J and I are going to have some with ice cream and some of the left over caramel – mmmmmmmmmm!! Thank you, again, for sharing the recipe – I have never made caramel before x

Leave a Reply

