blog, butter, cinnamon, cinnamon rolls, icing sugar, maple, salted butter, Uncategorized, yeast

Cinnamon Rolls with Maple Frosting: Pioneer Woman Revisited


This will get messy. I promise you. Just embrace your inner child. It will be worth it.

I’ve been playing at making cinnamon rolls for years now, after discovering Pioneer Woman’s awesome recipe. The Pioneer Woman gave me strength to openly declare my lust for butter, helping me realise that there is no shame in adoring it. This recipe takes no prisoners with the amount of butter it requires to make the recipe special. It makes around 48 cinnamon rolls so indulge in some love thy neighbours and spread some cinnamon rolls around. We have an 86 year old hermit living in the cottage behind us and he opens his door to noone but he will open his door for these cinnamon rolls.

Make sure you have ample workspace to roll out the dough, and allow for butter and flour carnage. The original recipe can be found here, but I will share with you the alterations I have made which have helped me retain my sanity when making them.

By the way, let me reacquaint you with my kitchen help, Potato Bottom herself.

Her specialties are biscotti and chocolate chip cookies. Maybe one day, I will get her to do a guest blog.

Personal Notes on Cinnamon Rolls Recipe

1. Pioneer Woman used vegetable oil, I have been using sunflower oil and it has been an acceptable substitute.
2. Do just scald the milk, oil and sugar mixture. Do not boil.

This is how the mixture looks like when it is at scalding point. You don’t want to take it much further than this. Don’t you find those honeycomb-like bubbles a tiny bit creepy and hives inducing? No? Must be just me then. I have cluster phobia. That and boats out of water. I think it might have to do with when my Father decided to build his boat in our living room when I was 12. It made great conversation when we had visitors.

3. Pioneer Woman says that it is fine to use the dough immediately after the final cup of flour is added. I would greatly advise you not to because the dough would still be warmish and utter Hell to handle. Chill it until it is cold.

4. Instead of dividing the dough in half, divide it into four. Trust me. When you do go making the cinnamon rolls, roll the dough to 4inch x 12 inch. You will rolling from the long side and each dough will yield 12 cinnamon rolls.

5. Pioneer Woman also is a little vague as to how much butter and cinnamon you ought to use. I recommend that for one recipe, you use at least 500g butter, maximum 750g. You want it quite cinnamon-y (if you don’t like cinnamon, then I hasten to add, this is not the rolls you are looking for so please move on) so use 8tbsp cinnamon powder for the whole recipe.

6. Rather than melting the butter and trying to pour it onto the rolled out dough, and failing, as you watch the melted butter run off the dough and your work surface, try this neat trick. I gently melt the butter until it is soft. I then add the sugar and the cinnamon powder. Mix well and divide the mixture into four. This way you are ensuring that there is the right ratio of butter, sugar and cinnamon powder. Take one quarter of the cinnamon-y sweet butter mix and spread it on to the rolled out dough using a spatula, leaving a little bit of edge all around the dough.

7. If you do the above, you will find that you won’t get too much spillage when you roll the dough. I like to roll out each dough quarter on baking parchment so that I can then completely roll it up like a sausage, Once you have done this to all four dough quarters, chill them in the fridge until firm.

8. Once firm, you can cut up each dough sausage into 12 rolls. You will find that the rolls will be nicely rounded and firm. Chilling the dough really stops the filling from oozing all over the place and the cinnamon rolls becoming misshapen. This is purely for aesthetic reasons as misshapen lumpy cinnamon rolls are still yummy but there is nothing like trying to cut 48 slices out of something that feel like slippery slimy cinnamony sludge to make you want to maim someone.

9. Lakeland sells flan foil dishes that are perfect for these rolls.

10. When making the maple syrup frosting, don’t skip the coffee. The coffee enhances the maple flavour. I used to use 500g of icing sugar for the frosting but I find that you can get away with using only 400g. It makes it less sickly sweet and gives you a surplus 100g of icing powder to induce a white haze in your kitchen and accidentally inhale.

So, there you go. Do have a go. The recipe is amazing and apart from the mess, is simplicity itself.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls with Maple Frosting: Pioneer Woman Revisited

  1. Lesley says:

    you remember THAT scene from ‘When Harry Met Sally’? Now, if I feel like that just looking at the pic, gawd ONLY knows what I’ll be like if I ever get to wrap my mouth around one of them thar buns ;o)

  2. Annemarie says:

    I love this recipe sooooo much. Make it regularly here, and get requests for my cinnamon rolls from workmates and OH’s workmates. Pioneer Woman has a LOT to answer for!

  3. *salivates* Oh, how I love cinnamon rolls – but my goodness, 48 of them? Don’t suppose you have any left over? I have a version of cinnamon rolls that uses double cream instead of butter, which still taste wickedly naughty

    Hungry Jenny x

Leave a Reply

