blog

Lunch Today


It’s a quick swift one. I thought I’d share what we are having for lunch today. I’ve been in a cranky and feisty mood today, with intermittent moments of glee. I’m not sure what it is but it’s certainly getting boring. Even for me.

20110701-125531.jpg

I’ve been reading a few of my real life friends’ blogs where they’ve been talking about just how truthful ought you to be on your blog. I’d like to think that I’m pretty open about the aspects of our lives that I’ve chosen to share with you (probably even when sometimes you wished I was a tad more reserved). So warts and all, I’m pretty much a killjoy today. Maybe it’s the grumpy 7th Wonder. Maybe it’s the fact that one of my offsprings just can’t seem to keep anything tidy (although I’m beginning to think maybe it’s me who needs to readjust my expectations and then I shudder at the thought of releasing a slob into the wild, wild world). Maybe because I’m about to sign myself up at a gym in order to compensate for my love of food.

But anyway, lunch. This is delicious and fast. The ingredients are approximates so exercise some creativity. You needs tiger prawns, pak choi, ginger, garlic, onion, chillies (if using), toasted sesame seed oil, fish sauce and groundnut oil.

Take half and onion and slice thinly. Using a pestle and mortar, pound 4 cloves of garlic and and inch of ginger. If you like your dish spicy, finely chop some bird’s eye chillies. I used five with the seeds left in.

Heat a tablespoon of groundnut oil in a pan. Fry the onions, garlic, ginger and chillies for a couple of minutes. Then drop 1/3 cup of water in the pan and chuck in the pak choi, which you have quartered. Sprinkle some sesame seed oil.

Once the pak choi look almost ready (you want to keep their crunch, do not stew them), put the prawns in. Just as they are getting to the point when they are fully cooked (it won’t take long, around five minutes if you have your pan sitting on a high heat), sprinkle about a teaspoon or two of fish sauce. Turn it over and serve with boiled rice.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Lunch Today

  1. Man, I knew I shouldn’t have clicked onto this link whilst feeling hungry – my stomach is making some very loud noises right now. So in the mood for prawns right now! Mm, love pak choi, haven’t had that in a while – I too like it crunchy, not wilted and overboiled!

    Hungry Jenny x

Leave a Reply

