banana, cake, Chichester, children

Butterscotch Banana Cake


It’s been a funny old week. I know I have been a tad tardy with my blogging but I promise you, I have been inundated with lots of real life stuff. The weather here has been foul and pretty much dampened our outdoor skating escapades. I’ve been baking but nothing new or worthy of a blog post and my drive for food was somewhat suppressed by the tooth extraction I had last week (It took the dentist ten minutes to do it and for someone who doesn’t mind the dentist, I did leave the surgery quite wobbly kneed).

We were also somewhat inundated with bananas and it’s been an exercise in let’s see how creative we can be with bananas. Obviously,there was the banana bread, the banana muffins, the banana pancakes, the banana milkshakes, the banana smoothies, the green banana juice (spinach, cucumber, celery, banana and flaxseed oil blended together) and the banana muffins turned into banana cupcakes using leftover Swiss Meringue buttercream that I’d morphed into peanut butter and chocolate flavoured ones.

I’ve also been catching up with friends at the park, not quite managing to answer the eternal question of how does a baker consolidate baking with a new drive for fitness. Honestly, I’m not sure myself. Do you trust a skinny baker? By and by, I have a long way to go before that would be an issue for me.

I’ve also been catching up with a new friend. A friendship that started virtually on Twitter. It’s amazing how you will never run out of fabulous new people to meet, who have such passion and character. The chance Twitter encounter led me to be invited by Petworth House to contribute a cake for their Icing On The Cake event. I was pretty anxious about this as I don’t really make wedding cakes and certainly, I have a love/hate relationship with fondant. I decided to submit something simple and within my comfort zone, knowing full well that my cake would be nothing like the other submissions.

If you squint hard enough, you will see my tiny pink ruffled two tiered chocolate cake in the far left. Modest in comparison but I must claim credit that the cake was baked fresh the day before and not made out styrofoam. Hardly what people will attribute as wedding cake looks wise but I thought it fitted in well in the Petworth House kitchen.

However, I did think this was pure genius and absolutely gorgeous.

Anyway, back to bananas.

I think I have found the most delicious banana cake recipe. Ever.

And I have to thank Dan Lepard for this again. You can find the recipe here but I will copy out the ingredients so that I can highlight the substitutions I made.

Butterscotch Banana Cake

250g caster sugar

250g banana flesh, chopped into 2cm pieces

1 tbsp unsalted butter

2 tsp vanilla extract

175ml sunflower oil

2 large eggs

150g plain flour

75g spelt, rye or wholemeal flour I used stoneground wholemeal

2 level tsp mixed spice I used Lebkuchen powder

2 level tsp baking powder

½ level tsp bicarbonate of soda

50ml plain yoghurt I used whole milk with a tbsp of vinegar

I found the cake batter quite frothy so don’t worry if yours does this too. This recipe is easy enough to double and. Would really encourage you to as i keeps wells and tastes better the next day. it’s by far the best banana cake recipe ever, even if it is a little fiddly because you have to caramelise the sugar and cook the bananas before adding it to the cake batter. It’s moist, light and flavoursome and definitely not one that will produce a rubbery gelatinous texture.

If you are on Twitter, i would recommend you follow Petworth House or visit their blog. Look out for their upcoming event which has a vegetarian hunt theme where certain members of staff are planning to dress up as vegetables and leave their fate at the mercy of the packs of children who will be hunting them. And to the DivineMrPearce, I still think the vegetable of your choice should be a beetroot, or certainly a round one that will gather momentum and speed once you get rolling. Please don’t forget to take photos.

Standard

Leave a Reply

