bake, biscuits, children, cookie, cookies, sultana

The Small Shouty One Bakes


I don’t really know how other parents manage it, involving children with their baking. I was wandering aimlessly in the kitchen, figuring out if I had enough gumpf in me to bake some bread today as yesterday’s brioche baking was down to its last loaf. The Small Shouty One appeared, and in her effortless nonchalant fashion, she smacked me with a whole load of guilt trip.

When will I get to make my cupcakes? I’ve been asking and asking for yeeaaarrrrrs.

So I’m mentally calculating if we have enough butter to make icing for cupcakes, or enough eggs for that matter to make cupcakes. And I was rummaging in my baking drawer, silently cursing my body which was, and still is, broken from last night’s squat as you skate drill at roller derby. As I am cupboard hopping, I clock the ridiculous amount of sultanas that I have in bags on the shelf.

A quick gander for a suitable recipe later, I manage to persuade The Small Shouty One to make cookies instead. I promise you, she started off quite enthusiastic. She melted the butter, sugar, golden syrup, milk and bicarbonate of soda herself (with me looking over her shoulders, of course).

She mixed in the dry ingredients quite happily enough.

She sort of started looking a bit distracted and put upon once we started spooning the dough on to the baking trays. See?

And she sort of disappeared off with the saucepan with the leftover cookie dough pretty soon after that. Leaving me to reshape the balls of cookies and play timekeeper.

But I promise, promise you, and she will tell you the same herself, that SHE made these. Oh yes.

Sultana Cookies

Makes around 24.
Preheat oven to 180C

Ingredients:

4 oz. butter
4 oz. caster sugar
1 tbsp. golden syrup
1 tablespoon milk
1/2 tsp. bicarbonate of soda
8 oz. plain flour
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/4 tsp. sea salt
1/2 cup sultanas

Directions:
-Melt the butter, sugar, golden syrup, milk and bicarbonate of soda together on the hob.
-Take it off the heat, and add the flour, salt, vanilla extract and sultanas.
-Mix well with a wooden spoon.
-Roll teaspoon sized dough mixture on to a lined baking tray and flatten gently with a fork.
-Bake for 10-15, depending on how crisp you like your cookies.
-Cool on a wire rack.

In between all this, I made some bread as we had none left. Entertained some horticultural question from Potato Bottom who was telling me that her pumpkin plant was growing upside down (!!) and doled out a minuscule amount of arnica to The Seventh Wonder who had managed to headbutt one of Slaveboy’s guitar (early 70s Guild, just in case any of Slaveboy’s friends happens to be reading).

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Small Shouty One Bakes

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Chili and orange cookies | Thewonderingchef's Blog

Leave a Reply

