2012, bake, baking club, Chichester

Clandestine Cake Club – Chichester’s First


I’ve been a member of the online Clandestine Cake Club for a while now and every time I checked in on the website, I crossed my fingers and hoped that SOMEONE would start a local one for my area. So you can imagine how thrilled I was when I stumbled upon the fact that one was recently set up.

To be honest, SniffSnorters, I’ve been naughty. I’ve been secretly baking and not sharing my delights with you. Needless to say, every morsel of sugar dusted flour confection that I consumed, I did so with immense guilt. I’ve also allowed my blogging to be swayed by the call of lovely, shiny shoes.

On top of that, I’ve been preoccupied with doing housewife-y larkiness like clearing the mantelpiece. Our mantelpiece is the go to place for storing anything that hasn’t got a house and in my household, that accounts for a lot of things.

So here we go, SniffSnorters, gaze upon the vonSponge’s mantelpiece. It’s a transient state.

It took me half a dozen lolly sticks and string to keep those damn hyacinths upright-ish. What silly flowers they are.

I’ve also rediscovered tempura. It’s so easy to make if you’re not trying to make enough to feed nine.

Anyway, back to the Clandestine Cake Club’s contributions. We all met up at a brasserie bar type of place and instantly, the shared interest in cake overcame the slight craziness of 10 individuals turning up bearing cakes and sitting down for the next two hours having a taster of every one of the cakes.

The lighting wasn’t that great but don’t they look awesome?

I copped out and made something I’ve made a handful of times before. Rich chocolate cake with vanilla Swiss meringue buttercream.

I’m really looking forward to the next one. I’m already doing my research 😉 So if anyone of you is local to Chichester, give me a shout and I might take you to the next one as my guest. It’ll be wicked.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Clandestine Cake Club – Chichester’s First

  1. Arrghh, I am sitting here drawling, Wish I lived nearer to Chichester, I would be there. But I am so pleased to find the CCC website at last – saw it on the telly and desperatly wanted to join. I just need to find a local meet now.

  2. Pingback: Clandestine Cake Club: Diamond Jubilee Cake « Sniff & Snort

Leave a Reply

