bundt, cake, Chichester, chocolate

Chocolate Almond Cake


All bakers know that all chocolate cakes are not created equal. The quest for the perfect chocolate cake is a never ending one and I suspect the criteria for what makes a perfect chocolate cake changes from person to person.

For me, a chocolate layer cake filled with a true vanilla flavoured light icing is my all time favourite. This traced back to when I was in primary school in Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia. Our Holy Infant Jesus Convent School was opposite this traditional bakery shop and every day, after school, I would risk life and limbs crossing the busy main road to get to the bakery. I’d make my regular purchase of egg custard tart and a slice of an almost black forest cake. I say almost because you could hardly taste the cherry flavour. In fact, it was non-existent enough that to me, it was just a normal chocolate cake. I’d pretty much scoff the tart before joining my Father at the nearby Indian restaurant – my Father adored Indian cooking (my Mother didn’t) and he would sneak in a cheeky Indian meal lunch during his daily school run. It was definitely a case of what happens on the school run stays on the school run. I spoke nothing of his poppadum & roti escapade and he turned a blind eye to my addiction to flour confections.



This particular cake I am sharing with you today is a nothing like that almost black forest cake. That will be another tale to tell and I am already working on that recipe. For one, this cake is not a layer cake. I should think it also has a significantly more cocoa and chocolate in it, with proportionately less sugar. The most distinct difference is the almond extract used in it. It really does add an extra dimension of flavour to the cake. The texture is closed, but light. It is quite a crumbly cake, the sort that you ought to enjoy with a cold glass of milk.



Ingredients

320g plain flour

130g cocoa powder

2tsp baking powder

3/4tsp bicarbonate of soda

230g salted butter

300 g caster sugar

4 free range eggs

1tsp vanilla extract

1tsp almond extract

240ml double cream

175g mascarpone cheese

175g dark chocolate, melted



Method

Take the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda and mix well in a large bowl. Set aside.

Melt the dark chocolate in a double boiler and allow to cool.

Mix the butter and sugar in a mixer until light and fluffy.

Add the eggs to the butter/sugar mixture gradually. The mixture will curdle.

Add the vanilla extract and almond extract to the mixture.

Mix the double cream and the mascarpone cheese to the cooled melted chocolate. Ensure that it is well mixed.

To the egg, butter, sugar mixture, fold in a 1/3rd of the flour/cocoa/baking powder/bicarbonate soda mixture. Mix well.

Pour half of blended chocolate into the cake mix. Make sure you turn the mixture over well.

Repeat with another 1/3rd of the flour mixture, and then with the blended melted chocolate mix.

The final addition should be the last 1/3rd of the flour mixture.

Spread this into a well greased bundt tin that has been dusted with cocoa powder.



Bake in a preheated oven for 50-60mins at 160C (175C if your oven is not fan assisted). Do check the cake at 50 mins with a cocktail stick. The stick should come out fairly crumb free.



Invert on to a cooling rack and leave to cool completely.



Ganache

110g milk chocolate, chopped

55g dark chocolate, chopped

180ml double cream

2 tbsp maple syrup



Method

Bring the double cream to a gentle boil and take it off the heat. Place the two types of chocolates into the cream and stir until melted and well mixed. Add to this, the maple syrup. Set aside to cool.



Once the Cake is cool, carefully spoon the ganache on top of the cake. Decorate the way you see fit.


 

 

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Cake

  1. Oh you do make the most fantastic cakes. I so want to try this one now. Would never had thought of adding almond essence to a cake especially if it had vanilla in it. Sounds delicious.

    Did you know this month’s We Should Cocoa ingredient is almonds – just in case you wanted to add it?

    • Thank you so much. You have no idea what a huge compliment that is. I do know that the WSC theme this month is almond. In fact I was roadtesting this for the challenge but I think I might hang back and see if I come up with something else first. I like OBVIOUS nuts on my cake. Watch this space. Xxx

  2. Oh my! That is GOOD cake and I will be trying it out on my quest for the perfect chocolate cake. I’m actually slavering as I type this….
    I love the story about your dad btw x

    • Thank you. My father was a sucker for roti and simple Indian curry served on a square of fresh banana leaf. I’m trying to remember what sort of drink he would have had. Probably some thick milky tea sweetened with condensed milk.

  3. Mmmm that’s exactly how I like my tea! We are a fan of Indian food in this house too and I can imagine my children talking about their dad like that too-he loves his food, especially Indian!

  4. Pingback: We Should Cocoa: Raspberry & Chocolate Chiffon Cake with Almond Meringue « Sniff & Snort

Leave a Reply

