2013, bakery, Chichester, Whipped&Baked

Nineteen Days (uh huh)


In a nutshell: After several years of deliberating about it, I’m finally taking the plunge and opening a bakery in Chichester. The dream is to have a bakery which sells decadent cakes made with al ingredients, sourced as locally as possible. The perfect time finally came along when a shop premises that has been in our family for over three generations finally became available again. These posts will chronicle our process of getting the shop reading for opening, hopefully in less than forty days.

Let the chaos start!
It’s 3 days to the Brighton Tattoo Convention and Day One of my prep work for it. Today I’ve been making gum drops, fudge and cotton candy marshmallows – all for my stall at the convention. I’ve yet to alter the dress l’ll be wearing to the convention (it’s a halter neck and I can’t stand things around my neck) but no worries, at least I have my shoes sorted.

Yesterday was a day of doing the ingredients shopping for the convention. Slaveboy and I also had a quick look at the local 2nd hand furniture outlet and it was a good day for us as we found the furniture perfect for upcycling. We decided to creatively upcycle pre-loved furniture into counters for the bakery as I wanted to avoid the pre-fabricated off the catalogue look for the bakery. They’ll be delivered next Monday, ready for Percy our very talented joiner.

We’ve been busy getting the self levelling floor primer for the bakery done today. We did it ourselves purely to save cost as flooring is one component of the refit that the budget can’t quite extend to getting other people to do it.

I took a few photos. Apologies for the dull overcast photos, the weather has been grim in Chichester.

20130212-170315.jpg
View from the front door

20130212-170411.jpg
View from the kitchen

I even took a couple of photos of the outside of the bakery – the road closure and the view of the park opposite the bakery.

20130212-170537.jpg

20130212-170558.jpg

Standard

3 thoughts on “Nineteen Days (uh huh)

Leave a Reply

