2013, bakery, Chichester, Whipped&Baked

Eighteen Days


In a nutshell: After several years of deliberating about it, I’m finally taking the plunge and opening a bakery in Chichester. The dream is to have a bakery which sells decadent cakes made al ingredients, sourced as locally as possible. The perfect time finally came along when a shop premises that has been in our family for over three generations finally became available again. These posts will chronicle our process of getting the shop reading for opening, hopefully in less than forty days.

I’ve just missed a phone call from a blocked number. All day we’ve been waiting for a delivery arriving in a rather large truck and what with the debacle of the closed road, we’re quite anxious about making sure the delivery does actually get here.

Our very own builder, Percy the Pirate has been over sorting out just how many tiles we need to order for the preparation area of the bakery. The floor at the bakery is drying well but it’s still going to need another day before we can actually step on it.

Sometime next week, we are going to arrange for a friend of Slaveboy’s to come sand and varnish the wooden floor on the right hand side of the premises.

20130213-152639.jpg

Things are beginning to look like they will be gathering momentum and I suspect by the end of next week, we will be seeing a vast difference to the place.

Meanwhile, I’ve been making gumdrops. It’s a sticky affair and I still have 3 more batches to cut. Thank God, I have my friend, Spiker helping me pass the time by facebooking me pictures of hideous work shoes. It affords me the chance to refine my sarcastic streak.

20130213-152808.jpg

Standard

Leave a Reply

